Hospitality and Grace

In the  third of a series Glenn Goodfellow considers the cost of exclusion when it comes to gays in the church. The article then asks

If someone in your family was gay, how would you want your church to nurture their faith?

Were some one in my family gay? I would start with hospitality. I would want to set the table and make sure that he or she is always welcome. Always.

At church, I would make sure there is always a place at the potluck. I would sing together. Pray together. And because I’m not ordained, I would break off the bread and give it and say, “this is Christ’s body broken for you.”

A model that shuts people out or hardens hearts is not the stuff of Grace. Rather, we need the wisdom to let tares and wheat grow; to nurture the wheat, in full confidence that at the Last Day, goodness and delight win, and the weeds fall away.

Leave a Reply

